Recent Searches
Clear

Adelaide Gaol Ghost Tour and Paranormal Investigation

|
Adelaide, Australia
Adelaide Gaol Ghost Tour and Paranormal Investigation

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Discover the supernatural side of the Adelaide Gaol on a 2-hour ghost tour of the historic prison. Rumored to be one of Australia’s most haunted locations, the Adelaide Gaol is also one of the oldest buildings in the city. Hear spooky stories of prisoners from the past and their ghosts who are rumored to still haunt the building. Learn about Adelaide’s history and its most notorious criminals as your guide shares informative and entertaining commentary on this spine-tingling evening tour.
  • 2-hour ghost tour of the Adelaide Gaol
  • Discover the stories behind the prisoners whose ghosts reportedly haunt the old gaol
  • Walk around the Adelaide Gaol at night with a knowledgeable guide
  • Gain insight into the early days of Australia through the tales from the gaol
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks
Adelaide , Adelaide, Adelaide, Greater Adelaide, South Australia
7:30 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 12 years
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Lantern Ghost Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.0
star-4
28 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews
star-2
Planes, noise, cold, too fast and very dark
Allirra_C
, Jul 2022
Couldn’t hear any relevant information as the tour took place when there was high flight pattern of plane’s. Each time tour guide spoke about a building or historical factor we were shivering out butts of in the dark outside and not being able to hear. Potentially move guest inside buildings and start speaking? We were all extremely covered with warm clothing.
star-2
Was Ok
Luke_D
, Jul 2022
More of a history lesson on the jail by two young girls at night time rather than a paranormal experience. We were given some instruments to attempt to detect paranormal activity which was a bit of fun, but could have bettered the experience by having an ex-guard or ex-prisoner of the jail conduct the tour with real life stories
star-5
Great
Sean_G
, Jun 2022
Made some sort of contact using the investigation tools. After years of wondering, I truly believe last night I had an experience. Was a surreal experience.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Sean, thank you for writing your review after attending our Adelaide Gaol ghost tour. We love when guests are able to make contact with the other side while on tour, so glad to hear you enjoyed your evening with Lantern Tours.
star-5
We were not alone
Doreen_B
, May 2022
I was not sure what to expect but really enjoyed the tour. The 2 guides were knowledgeable about the history of the Gaol. I had not expected to be given equipment to test for the presence of ghosts and closed into one of the cells (optional), which really added to the tour. As I was travelling alone I was buddied up with a couple and all 3 of us observed and felt some things that could not have been faked.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Doreen, thanks for attending the Adelaide Gaol ghost tour with Lantern Tours. So good to hear you enjoyed your evening and you were able to make contact with the other side. Hope to see you again soon on another Lantern Tour.
star-2
Very disappointing
Nicole_M
, May 2022
More a history lesson than paranormal, visited during the day & this event was much the same. Very disappointed expecting more time focused on paranormal would not recommend
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Nicole , we would love to hear more about your experience . We host a ghost tour for two hours focused on the paranormal and we use ghost hunting equipment on tour . If you can please contact us , details on all tickets and please let us know more about your experience so we can look into this.
star-5
Awesome experience
Jason_R
, Apr 2022
Learning about the history of the gaol and it’s inmates and their terrible living conditions the darkness ads to the experience
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Jason , thanks for your 5 star review , we always love to hear our guests have enjoyed the tours Happy Haunting!
star-2
Rushed tour
Leeanne_W
, Apr 2022
I was disappointed in this tour, it was a let down for me, as it was very rushed could explore much, and wasn't given much time in the sells, at the end it just finished and we were rushed out, was boring, wouldn't recommend it to anyone, didn't see much at all
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Leanne, thanks for adding you review. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your two hour ghost tour at this beautiful venue
star-5
The history of the goal...
michael_m
, Apr 2022
The history of the goal was really interesting, me and my girlfriend are from Melbourne so it was good to get to know a little bit about SA history. I’d definitely recommend it to anyone. The guides were also very nice and helpful
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hi Michael, thanks for joining us on tour , always great to hear our guests have enjoyed their evening with Lantern Ghost Tours Happy Haunting!
star-5
Great experience. Would recommend.
Troy
, Jul 2021
Not sure what to expect after mixed reviews. Was not disappointed, the guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the prison. We had a great time using the detection equipment as well. Great activity inside of the new area with orb activity viewed on our phone and to the naked eye. Would definitely recommend a visit. If you’re just going there for ghost hunting you’ll be disappointed because that only happens twice during the two hour tour. But if you enjoy the history side then it’s great value for money. One suggestion would be to spend a bit longer in the new section and use a range of the detection equipment, but that’s my only suggestion.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Troy , thanks for your review after attending the Adelaide Gaol ghost tour . We are happy to hear you had a great time on tour , hope to see you again soon Happy Haunting!
star-5
Great tour at one of the most eerie places in Australia!
BillieJo_L
, Jul 2021
Our guide was excellent. Really enjoyed reading the stories of individual prisoners on the cell walls! Lots of interesting facts and there’s no doubt it’s a legitimately spooky site… with last night’s wet and windy weather it was the perfect atmosphere 👌🏼 Would definitely recommend this tour!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Billie Jo , thanks so much for coming along to tour. Its great to hear your ghost hosts wee excellent and you found lots of interesting facts in this spooky old jail Hope to see you again soon on another Lantern Ghost Tour
star-2
Ghost tour
JOANNE_W
, Jul 2021
It was ok, more like a tour . Have been on a few and thought it could have been directed more at the ghost side and more stories told
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Joanne, thanks for your review. We would love to hear more about why the tour was not excellent on the evening you attended . Please contact our office so we can look in to this , details on all tickets
star-4
Possible contact
999
, Mar 2020
Our hosts were very knowledgeable and it was a very enjoyable night we used electronic devices and divinity rods and temperature meters
icon Response from Host , May 2020
Hi there , thanks for your review. That's great to hear you found our guides knowledgeable and you enjoyed using the equipment to help make contact with the other side , Hope to see you again soon on another Lantern Ghost Tour
star-4
What a great tour. It was...
Jason.dawson
, Sep 2017
What a great tour. It was informative and very entertaining. Our two guides were great and our small group were open-minded. We had two opportunity for a paranormal encounter. All equipment needed was provided. The only change I would recommend was to include a hotel pick-up in the package for a small fee. As I was travelling with a group that did not drive, getting to and from the gaol especially late at night was difficult and we had to get a taxi. I believe offering this option would greatly improve the experience.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Adelaide Gaol Ghost Tour and Paranormal Investigation
Adelaide Gaol Ghost Tour and Paranormal Investigation

star-428

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$28.50

star-4.566

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$17.81

star-567

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.57

star-4.550

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$60.31

star-530

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$56.76

star-58

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$17.74

star-516

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$39.03

star-52

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$15.35

star-00

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$45.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations